Test Preparations


About IELTS:

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is an international standardized test of English language proficiency for non-native English language speakers. It is jointly managed by The British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment English, and was established in 1989.

IELTS is one of the major English-language tests in the world.

IELTS is accepted by most Australian, British, Canadian, European, Irish and New Zealand academic institutions, by over 3,000 academic institutions in the United States, and by various professional organisations across the world.

IELTS is approved by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) as a Secure English Language Test for visa applicants both outside and inside the UK. It also meets requirements for immigration to Australia, where Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) and Pearson Test of English Academic are also accepted, and New Zealand. 

IELTS can be taken for the following purposes:

Study abroad: Students planning to study in English speaking countries such as Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK, the US, Ireland or wherever the medium of instruction is English need to take an English language test that approves their language proficiency.

Work abroad: IELTS score is acknowledged by employers and professional bodies from English-speaking countries in various fields such as engineering, law, nursing, medicine, accountancy, teaching, and more.

Immigration: If you are planning to immigrate to an English speaking country, it is mandatory for you to take IELTS. Migration authorities in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, US, and the United Kingdom use IELTS to process immigration.

IELTS Version:

There are two versions of the IELTS test.

  • IELTS Academic
  • IELTS General Training

The purpose of both tests is different and the one you take will depend on the requirements of the academic institution you plan to study in, your work/professional or visa requirements.

1. IELTS Academic

The IELTS Academic test is suitable for those who wants to study in an English-speaking environment or university (higher education). You can also take IELTS Academic for professional registration purposes.

The test measures if you are ready to begin studying in English. It features vocabulary that is familiar within an academic setting.

You can choose whether to take IELTS Academic on paper, on computer or online at home or other suitable location.

1. IELTS General Training

The IELTS General Training test is suitable for those applying to study below degree level. This includes an English-speaking school or college. It can also be taken for work experience or other employment training.

IELTS General Training is also required for migration to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK. The test features everyday English language skills that you will need in social and workplace environments.

IELTS General Training is available to take on paper and on computer only.

1. Reading Section

3 Sections,

Time Allotted – 20 mins. for each section.

2. Listening Section

4 Section,

Time Allotted – 30 mins.

3. Speaking SectionTime Allotted – 11 – 15 mins
4. Writing Section

2 Sections,

Time Allotted – 20 mins for 1 section and 40 mins for other section

Total Time2 hours, 45 minutes
Nature of ExamPaper Based Test (PBT)
Total ScoresIELTS is out of 9.0 bands.

IELTS Scoring System:

Test takers receive a score for each test component – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The individual scores are then averaged and rounded to produce an overall Band Score.

In IELTS, scores are graded on the 9-band system. Each educational university or school sets its own minimum IELTS scores to meet its individual requirements. Mostly, an average of 6.5, with a band score above or equal to 6 in each of the 4 sections, is welcomed in most universities and schools.







The test taker has fully operational command of the language. Their use of English is appropriate, accurate and fluent, and shows complete understanding.



Very Good User

The test taker has fully operational command of the language with only occasional unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriate usage. They may misunderstand some things in unfamiliar situations. They handle complex and detailed argumentation well.


Good user

The test taker has operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings in some situations. They generally handle complex language well and understand detailed reasoning.



Competent user

The test taker has an effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings. They can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situations.



Modest user

The test taker has a partial command of the language and copes with overall meaning in most situations, although they are likely to make many mistakes. They should be able to handle basic communication in their own field.



Limited user

The test taker’s basic competence is limited to familiar situations. They frequently show problems in understanding and expression. They are not able to use complex language.



Extremely limited user

The test taker conveys and understands only general meaning in very familiar situations. There are frequent breakdowns in communication.



Intermittent user

The test taker has great difficulty understanding spoken and written English.




The test taker has no ability to use the language except a few isolated words.



Did not attempt the test


The test taker did not answer the questions.

IELTS in CEFR Scale:


The CEFR English test is a popularly acknowledged framework for language proficiency worldwide. The CEFR was assembled by the Council of Europe, back in the 1990s as part of a bigger initiative to spark collaborations amongst language teachers throughout Europe. 

The Council was driven by its aim of providing better clarity for institutions and employers who wished to assess the language proficiency levels of candidates. The testing framework is intended for assessment and teaching alike.


This is a scale with six points (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2) in total, beginning from A1 (basic user) and going up to C2 (proficient user) for those with mastery over any language. CEFR is also used for other language tests throughout Europe and not only for IELTS. It is used for the conversion of scores in TOEFL as well. 

Thus CEFR exam or CEFR levels bypass terms such as intermediate, beginner, or even advanced which are not accurate indicators of proficiency in a language. The CEFR was made to ensure more standardized scales for determining fluency in languages with indicators that are more reliable.

Here are some other objectives of the CEFR Test: 

  1. Helps in backing the continued development and demonstration of progress for language learners at an individual level
  2. Helps in the definition of can-do and positive descriptors which are suited to learner needs, interests, and age
  3. Helps in the development of teaching material while enabling more cooperation amongst those teaching various types of languages
  4. It also boosts standardized assessment, teaching, and learning
  5. It enables comparability for various types of certifications
  6. The CEFR seeks to encourage individuals in the field of language including learners to embark on reflection for questions like those recommended in Notes for the user with regard to the analysis of various teaching or learning situations
  7. It also helps entities define what they want learners to achieve and how to do the same.