International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Exam

International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Exam



Required For

Study/Work Permit in English speaking countries

Mode of taking test

Computer Based Paper-Pen Based

Test Type

English Proficiency Test

Official Website

About IELTS Exam

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is the most popular English language test. It measures the language proficiency of people who want to study or work in locations where English is used to communicate.

Some major countries that accept IELTS are the UK, USA, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia. The test assesses one’s listening, reading, writing, and speaking abilities in less than three hours. There are two types of IELTS: Academic and General Training. Listening and Speaking are the same for both tests, but the subject matter of the Reading and Writing sections differs depending on which test you take. The Listening, Reading and Writing sections of all IELTS tests are completed on the same day, with no breaks between them. The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.

Being one of the prime exams for testing English proficiency, the IELTS exam is recognized by more than 11,000 universities globally.

With over 1000 test locations in more than 140 countries, it is accessible for most people. The IELTS test isn’t just essential for pursuing work or studying in foreign countries and helps students hone their English speaking and writing skills. Good command of English helps visa granting authorities ensure that one can easily communicate with the locals and won’t face major communication barriers later.

IELTS Basics

Must have a valid passport and must be 16 years of age.

General Facts